Leichhardt Rowing Club was established in 1886 and the first clubhouse was opened by Sir Henry Parkes in 1887.
1887 Drawing of the Clubhouse
The drawing was made by the first secretary E W Johnson. Buff and blue were the first colours of the Club. These were the colours of Lord Carrington, the Governor in 1886, who granted permission for their use.
The club has been a part of rowing in Sydney since that time and we have had many notable achievements including:
History of Leichhardt Rowing Club
1919 1st AIF crew at HenelyRoyal Peace Regatta - Winners of the King's Cup
Harry Hauenstein (front row at the right) rowed in the five seat and Tom McGill (back row third from the left) in the three seat
Our current clubhouse was constructed in 2001 in a unique partnership with Pymble Ladies College with which we share the facilities. It is built on the shores of Iron Cove in a relatively sheltered position enjoying ideal rowing conditions all year round.
Our Club is now over two hundred members strong across school, junior, intermediate, senior, and master categories.
Our members come from across metropolitan Sydney, and we also have many students from schools in the local area who have become successful rowers with us at State and National level.
Our shed is shared with Pymble Ladies’ College.
2002 New Clubhouse
The official opening of the new boathouse on 9th February 2002, by the NSW Attorney General.